Your browser does not support JavaScript!

TRUSTEES: Mayor DeGeeter sworn in, O’Malley and Sulik reappointed

Timothy J. DeGeeter, Mayor of Parma, has been appointed to the Sewer District‘s Board of Trustees by Cuyahoga County Executive Ed FitzGerald. In addition, Ronald D. Sulik and Walter O’Malley have been re-appointed for additional five-year terms by the Suburban Council of Governments and City of Cleveland Mayor Frank G. Jackson, respectively. These changes are effective today, when they were sworn in prior to the Board meeting.

Mayor DeGeeter has served as Mayor of Parma since 2012 and was previously the longest consecutive-serving member of the Ohio House of Representatives. A graduate of John Carroll University and Cleveland Marshall College of Law, Mayor DeGeeter also served as a Parma City Councilman.

“I am glad to welcome Mayor DeGeeter to the Board and congratulate Ron Sulik and Walt O’Malley on their re-appointments,” said Julius Ciaccia, Executive Director of the Sewer District. “Representing our largest suburban community, Mayor DeGeeter will be an excellent addition to our Board of Trustees and I look forward to working with him over the next five years.”

Mayor DeGeeter succeeds Dean E. DePiero, former Mayor of Parma, who served on the Board since March 2007 and as Secretary since July 2007. Today, Trustee Sheila J. Kelly, a Board member since 1994, was elected to serve as Secretary.

“I want to commend Mayor DePiero for what he’s brought to this Board: his knowledge, his evenhanded approach to looking at matters before us, and his purposeful, meaningful insight,” said Board President Darnell Brown at a recent Board meeting. “He served on this Board during a time of major transition in which the Sewer District changed leadership and entered into a new era of transparency; these past five years have been the most exciting I can remember.”